San Marino Motor Classic Celebrates Biggest Year Yet

For photos:

For immediate release   

Media Contact: 

Ricky Whitman

Publicity Chair

(626) 792-7151 ext. 113 

SAN MARINO, Calif. (June 12, 2014) – It was an oasis of classic, vintage and rare cars at the fourth annual San Marino Motor Classic: Design In Motion on Sunday, June 8. The Concours-level exhibition attracted approximately 5,000 spectators and 270 classic and modern cars on the sprawling green lawns of Lacy Park. Special awards were given to the following:

• Best In Show - Pre War

1929 Duesenberg Model J Dual Cowl Phaeton

John Muckel of Rancho Palos Verdes, Calif.

• Best In Show - Post War

1957 Mercedes Benz 300SL Roadster

Hjeltness Restoration, Inc. of Escondido, Calif.

• Chairman’s Award

1931 Cadillac 370-A V-12 2-Door rumble seat coupe          

Steven C. Muccillo of Laguna Beach, Calif.

• San Marino Rotary Trophy

1941 Packard Series 180 LeBaron Brougham

Leigh Johnson of Idyllwild, Calif.

• Most Elegant Closed Car - Post War

1956 Continental MK II

Peter & Cathy Hoffman of Hermosa Beach, Calif.

• Pasadena Humane Society Award

1964 Ferrari 250 GT Lusso

Alan & Wendy Hart of Topanga, Calif. 

• Most Exotic Sports Car

1955 Mercedes Benz 300SL Gullwing

Ted Strocher of San Juan Capistrano, Calif.

• Garage Style Magazine Award

1965 Shelby Cobra

Billy & Christine Kincheloe of Sherman Oaks, Calif. 

• Art Center College of Design Award

1956 Ferrari 250 GT Speciale

Don Murray of Laguna Beach, Calif.

• Wells Fargo Award

1958 Cadillac Convertible Coupe

Giovanni Altamura of Manhattan Beach, Calif. 

• Mayor's Award

1962 Jaguar XKE Roadster

Stephen Russell of Pasadena, Calif.

• CCCA Paul Cerf Award

1934 Auburn Phaeton Saloon Coupe

Fred Lax of Malibu, Calif.

• Meguiar's Award for Paint & Finish

1932 Lancia Dilambda

Tim Walker of Pasadena, Calif. 

• Most Elegant Open Classic (CCCA)

1941 Packard Darrin Victoria

Lloyd Cranford of Long Beach, Calif. 

• Petersen Automotive Museum Award

1957 Lancia Aurelia B24S Convertible

David Word of San Francisco, Calif. 

• Most Significant Pre War European Car

1937 Peugeot Darl'Mat

Peter & Merle Mullin of Oxnard, Calif. 

“We had an excellent turnout this year,” says Aaron Weiss, chairman and co-founder of the event. “We could not produce a show of this level without the community’s support these past four years. I cannot thank our dedicated volunteers, sponsors and entrants enough. ” 

Proceeds are still being calculated for the three benefiting charities – the Pasadena Humane Society & SPCA, Petersen Automotive Museum and the Rotary Club of San Marino. Mark your calendars: next year’s show is set for Sunday, June 14, 2015. For the full list of winners, visit

About the San Marino Motor Classic 

The San Marino Motor Classic features a broad array of motorcars that span more than a century. Co-founded by Aaron Weiss, Paul Colony and Ben Reiling. It is the successor of the Los Angeles Concours d’Elegance. For more information including directions, a list of past winners, competing classes and to purchase tickets visit: